Welcome to Our Newest Board Members

Posted on:
Earlier this year we were excited to welcome Cheniqua Johnson, Geoff Jones, Gloria Stamps-Smith, Inspector Amelia Huffman and Michael Lehan to our Board of Directors. Our new board members are providing diverse views and expertise that further our collective work at The Bridge for Youth.


Cheniqua Johnson was born and raised in Worthington, Minnesota. She is a first-generation, TRIO college graduate. She received her B.S. in family social science from the University of Minnesota – Twin Cities College of Education and Human Development. Currently, she works as District Outreach Coordinator and Scheduler for the first African American Hennepin County Commissioner, Angela Conley. She has spent the last five years in public service having served as the Legislative Correspondent for the former Congressman, now Attorney General, Keith Ellison.





Geoff Jones is a veteran marketing communications professional, currently serving as Marketing and Communications Director for Minneapolis Community and Technical College. A Chicago native, Geoff relocated to Minnesota to attend Carleton College where he received his BA in Fine Arts, and stayed upon discovering the Twin Cities’ abundant career opportunities and rich performing arts community. His heart for working with youth is reflected in his tenure as a student club advisor for 12 years and as former board VP at Project Foundation (now Avenues for Homeless Youth).





Gloria Stamps-Smith is an attorney in the Hennepin county Attorney’s office where she has been for the last 25 years. She has practiced in the area of juvenile prosecution and spent the last eight years in Adult Services/Mental Health Court. Her concern for homeless youth are the direct product of the young people she encountered for many years as a juvenile prosecutor and in mental health court.







Inspector Amelia Huffman commands the 5th Precinct which encompasses the 20 neighborhoods in the southwest corner of the city, bounded by Interstate 35 W on the East, Interstate 94 on the North and the city limits on the West and South. Inspector Huffman has a long history with the 5th Precinct, working there in her first assignment as a patrol officer, as a member of the Community Response Team and as a shift lieutenant. She brings a wealth of experience to her role as a board member.




Michael Lehan is a graduate of Hopkins High School and attended the University of Minnesota, where he received his bachelor’s degree in Family Social Science. He is in his fifth year as Osseo Senior High’s principal and has quickly developed a reputation as a student-centered principal focused on strong leadership and innovation. He is extremely passionate about paying-it-forward to those who are facing the same types of challenges he encountered as an African American youth in foster care. Prior to his career as an educator, Lehan played professional football in the National Football League for six years. Most recently, Michael was named High School Principal of the Year for the Hennepin Division by the Minnesota Association of Secondary School Principals (MASSP).

Leave a Reply